COVID-19 Update

Despite the problems caused by the Corona-virus our Webshop and the contact forms on our website are fully available. You may also address your inquiries to Thank you for your understanding if our answer takes longer as usual because of the current restrictions. Your Universal Edition Team

Georg Friedrich Haas: String Quartet No. 2

  • for string quartet
  • Duration: 18’
  • Instrumentation details:
    1st violin
    2nd violin
  • Composer: Georg Friedrich Haas

Work introduction

My String Quartet No. 2 – a commission by the Wiener Konzerthaus for the Hagen Quartet – combines tonal, apparently historicising sound elements with microtonal adjustments, temporal expansions and compressions and a sometimes virtuoso, flickering sound picture. Tradition shines through again and again, but it appears as something lost, distant, clouded. (Georg Friedrich Haas)


The complete perusal score (PDF-preview)

World première

Konzerthaus, Wien (AT)
Hagen Quartett

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works