Georg Friedrich Haas: String Quartet No. 7

Georg Friedrich Haas String Quartet No. 7
String Quartet No. 7

Georg Friedrich Haas: String Quartet No. 7

Year of composition:
Scored for:
for string quartet and electronics
Georg Friedrich Haas
Instrumentation details:
1st violin
2nd violin
live electronics
Das 7. Streichquartett ist ein Auftragswerk von LUCERNE FESTIVAL, das am 10. September 2011 während LUCERNE FESTIVAL im Sommer vom Arditti Quartett und dem Freiburger Experimentalstudio des SWR uraufgeführt wurde.
Required Equipment: 1 Mixing 8 loudspeakers in the hall 3 small loudspeakers on the stage 4 Schoeps MK4 Microphones, or similar 4 Sennheiser MKE1 Lavalier microphones, or similar 4 Amplistring fixings for the Lavalier microphones on the instruments 1 or more MIDI controllers (16 faders recommended). 1 MIDI interface 1 MacBookPro or MacPro. OSX10.7. or higher. Minimum 8GB RAM-Software: Max6.1 64bit ( 1-2 TFT-Monitors on stage with video remote.
More Less


String Quartet No. 7

The complete perusal score (PDF-preview)

Work introduction

The 7th String Quartet is an adventure in listening. In addition to the microtones which lend unique nuances to the timbres, the sonic landscape is determined by electronics; they are the fifth voice, mostly remaining in the background, emerging particularly when the four strings have rests. The result is a work of continuous timbral flux which does not abate for 25 minutes. The long, sustained pitches, the glissandi and the trills are characteristic of the piece, although they are of course only the skeleton, the scaffolding whose sense derives from the ever-changing, fascinating timbres, the swelling and ebbing dynamics.

A long melody – or rather, the reminiscence of a melody – appears in the cello, accompanied by fragile trills in the other instruments. Later on, it recurs in the violin voice, and ultimately it is played unisono by all four instruments before being overwhelmed and silenced by an electronic crescendo.

Balint Varga

Special prints

String Quartet No. 7

Georg Friedrich Haas: String Quartet No. 7

for string quartet and electronics , 25’

World première

KKL, Luzern (CH)
Arditti String Quartet
Main soloists:
Experimentalstudio des SWR, Freiburg

Other works

Sign up for our newsletter!

You will regularly receive information about new scores with free downloads, current prize games and news about our composers.