Georg Friedrich Haas: Les temps tiraillés

Georg Friedrich Haas Les temps tiraillés
Les temps tiraillés

Georg Friedrich Haas: Les temps tiraillés

Year of composition:
Scored for:
for 2 violas, bassoon and electronics
Georg Friedrich Haas
IRCAM 2008 commission, computer design realised at IRCAM-Centre Pompidou Studios, IRCAM computer music designer: Robin Meier
More Less


Les temps tiraillés

The complete perusal score (PDF-preview)

Work introduction

Georg Friedrich Haas’s piece Les Temps Tiraillés (Time Torn Apart), was commissioned by IRCAM and the Centre Pompidou and premièred in Paris, with choreography by Myriam Gourfink. Haas says of his composition: ‘The electronics are contrasted with three instruments: a bassoon (Pascal Gallois) and two violas (Geneviève Strosser, Garth Knox). In the first part of the piece, the instruments become islands in the stream of electronic sound. Part two is extremely quiet, on the very edge of audibility and with the musicians moving around the room, whilst part three multiplies the instrumental parts to create a dense, almost orchestral sound.’  

World première

Centre Pompidou, Paris (FR)
Main soloists:
Pascal Gallois, bsn; Garth Knox, vla; Geneviève Strosser, vla; Tänzer: Clémence Coconnier, Céline Debyser, Carole Garriga, Déborah Lary, Julie Salgues, Cindy Van Acker, Véronique Weil

Other works

Sign up for our newsletter!

You will regularly receive information about new scores with free downloads, current prize games and news about our composers.