COVID-19 Update

Despite the problems caused by the Corona-virus our Webshop and the contact forms on our website are fully available. You may also address your inquiries to Thank you for your understanding if our answer takes longer as usual because of the current restrictions. Your Universal Edition Team

Georg Friedrich Haas: „... Schatten ... durch unausdenkliche Wälder“

  • for 2 pianos and 2 percussionists
  • Duration: 24’
  • Instrumentation details:
    1st percussion: marimba, vibraphone, glockenspiel, crotales, temple block, cymbal, bass drum, tenor drum, 2 tom-tom
    2nd percussion: marimba, vibraphone, glockenspiel, wood block, bass drum, snare drum, tom-tom, gongs, tam-tam, cymbal
  • Composer: Georg Friedrich Haas
  • Table of contents:
    Schichtung, Schwingung, Abbruch
    In memoriam Richard H. Stern
    "... indem ich die unsichtbare Protagonistin vor den Vorhang hole..." (für Gösta Neuwirth)

Work introduction

I. Stratification, Oscillation, Rupture

II. In memoriam Richard H. Stein

III. “...By bringing the invisible protagonist in front of the curtain...” (for Gösta Neuwirth)

The title of this work in three movements is taken from Fernando Pessoa’s prose The Book of Anxiety of the Assistant Bookkeeper Bernardo Soares in the translation by Georg Rudolf Lind.

All three movements have the same basic time structure; since each movement lasts approximately half as long as the preceding, the structure is adapted to each movement.

The material in the first movement is determined by sinus functions that are translated in different ways into notation: as transverse oscillations (the pitches follow the sinus curves), as longitudinal oscillations (deceleration and acceleration are controlled by sinus curves), as well as combinations of these two processes. Shapes thus defined are then layered, muted, sandwiched, broken off, or concentrated on one point. Out of the repetition of these fragmentation processes macropulsations emerge, comparable to the acoustic phenomenon of forced oscillation. 

The second movement is shaped using the first eight measures of Richard H. Stein’s Piano Piece Nr. 3 from op. 22. (Richard Stein was born in 1882 in Halle an der Saale and died 1942 in exile in St. Brigida, Canary Islands.)

The third movement is dedicated to Gösta Neuwirth, the title being a quote from Neuwirth’s text for “Clouds for Claude” from his piano cycle Piss-Pott or a Pot of Pieces.

Georg Friedrich Haas


Sample pages

World première

Salzburg (AT)
Austrian Art Ensemble

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works