Georges Bizet: Symphony No. 1

Georges Bizet Symphony No. 1
Symphony No. 1

Georges Bizet: Symphony No. 1

C major
Year of composition:
Scored for:
for orchestra
Georges Bizet
2 2 2 2 - 4 2 0 0 - timp, str
Instrumentation details:
1st flute
2nd flute
1st oboe
2nd oboe
1st clarinet in C
2nd clarinet in C
1st bassoon
2nd bassoon
1st horn in G/F/A
2nd horn in G/F/A
3rd horn in C/E
4th horn in C
1st trumpet in C
2nd trumpet in C
violin I
violin II
More Less

Prices incl. VAT plus shipping costs

Product available

License request Hire request


Symphony No. 1

The complete perusal score (PDF-preview)

Work introduction

The first performance of this work in 1935 caused a sensation, and Universal Edition snatched it up at once, signing a contract that same year. The piece has since firmly established itself in the concert repertoire. (It is still a mystery why Georges Bizet, who wrote it when he was 17, hid it away in a drawer and told no one about it). The music has more in common with Mozart and Rossini than with any French models; its last movement contains hints of Schumann's 2nd Symphony, composed five years earlier. The dance-like element of Bizet’s symphony inspired Georges Balanchine to create one his most successful choreographies.

From our online shop

Next performances

25 Mar

Symphony No. 1

Cremona (IT)

27 Mar

Symphony No. 1

Musical Theater Basel, Basel (CH)

28 Mar

Symphony No. 1

Musical Theater Basel, Basel (CH)

23 Jun

Symphony No. 1

Congresshalle, Saarbrücken (DE)

29 Jun

Symphony No. 1

Rhein-Mosel Halle, Koblenz (DE)

Other works

Sign up for our newsletter!

You will regularly receive information about new scores with free downloads, current prize games and news about our composers.