Gustav Mahler: Symphony No. 1

  • in 4 movements (1884-1888/1896)
  • in D major
  • critical edition
  • 4 4 4 3 - 7 5 4 1 - timp(2), perc(3), hp, str
  • Duration: 50’
  • Instrumentation details:
    1st flute
    2nd flute (+picc)
    3rd flute (+picc)
    4th flute (+picc)
    1st oboe
    2nd oboe
    3rd oboe (+c.a)
    4th oboe
    1st clarinet in Bb (+cl(C))
    2nd clarinet in Bb (+cl(A), cl(C))
    3rd clarinet in Bb (+cl(A), cl(C)
    bass cl(Bb), cl(Eb))
    4th clarinet in Bb (+cl(A), cl(C), cl(Eb))
    1st bassoon
    2nd bassoon
    3rd bassoon (+cbsn)
    1st horn in F
    2nd horn in F
    3rd horn in F
    4th horn in F
    5th horn in F
    6th horn in F
    7th horn in F
    1st trumpte in F
    2nd trumpte in F
    3rd trumpte in F (+tpt(Bb))
    4th trumpte in F
    5th trumpte in F
    1st trombone
    2nd trombone
    3rd trombone
    4th trombone
    1st timpani
    2nd timpani
    triangle (+t-tamam)
    bass drum
    violin I
    violin II
  • Composer: Gustav Mahler
  • Piano reduction: Bruno Walter
  • Thematic analysis: Richard Specht
  • Editor: Sander Wilkens
  • Table of contents:
    I. Langsam. Schleppend. – Immer gemächlich.
    II. Kräftig bewegt, doch nicht zu schnell
    III. Feierlich und gemessen, ohne zu schleppen
    IV. Stürmisch bewegt

arrangements & translations

Please check again the data you have given - thank you very much.

The license as well as our terms and conditions are available in writing. By clicking the button "Submit" you submit your data, which are checked by the Universal Edition. The Universal Edition is free to provide you with an offer on the basis of your information. From the transmission of your request, no claim can be derived for a license.

Work specifications



Arrangement Information

The fields marked with * are required

Work introduction


Sample pages

World première

Budapest (HU)
Gustav Mahler

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works