Gustav Mahler: Das klagende Lied

Gustav Mahler Das klagende Lied
Das klagende Lied

Gustav Mahler: Das klagende Lied

Year of composition:
revised version 1899 in 2 movements
Scored for:
for soli, mixed choir and orchestra
Gustav Mahler
Rudolf Stephan
Text author:
Gustav Mahler
soprano; alto; tenor; Knabenalt ad lib.
3 3 3 3 - 4 4 3 1 - timp, perc(4), hp(2), str - off-stage ens: 3 2 4 0 - 4 2 0 0 - timp, perc
Instrumentation details:
1st flute
2nd flute
3rd flute (+picc)
1st oboe
2nd oboe
3rd oboe (+c.a)
1st clarinet in Bb (+cl(C)
2nd clarinet in Bb (+cl(C)
3rd clarinet in Bb (+cl(C)
bass cl)
1st bassoon
2nd bassoon
3rd bassoon (+cbsn)
1st horn in F
2nd horn in F
3rd horn in F
4th horn in F
1st trumpet in F
2nd trumpet in F
3rd trumpet in F
4th trumpet in F
1st trombone
2nd trombone
3rd trombone
bass tuba
percussion: triangle
cymbal, tam-tam, bass drum
1st harp
2nd harp
violin I
violin II
fernorchestra: piccolo
1st flute
2nd flute
1st oboe
2nd oboe
1st clarinet in Eb
2nd clarinet in Eb
1st clarinet in Bb
2nd clarinet in Bb
1st horn in F
2nd horn in F
3rd horn in F
4th horn in F
1st trumpet in Bb (or flugelhorn)
2nd trumpet in Bb (or flugelhorn)
More Less


Das klagende Lied

The complete perusal score (PDF-preview)

Work introduction

The work is based on poems written by Gustav Mahler and was completed in 1880. It consisted of three movements which bore the following titles:

Waldmärchen (A Tale from the Woods)

Der Spielmann (The Minstrel)

Hochzeitsstück (Wedding Piece)

The composer subjected the score to several revisions and eventually arrived at a version in which the first movement was omitted altogether and movements Nos 2 and 3 lost their titles and were thoroughly reworked. This new version was published in 1899 by Weinberger and premiered under Mahler’s baton in Vienna in 1901.

The work was taken over in 1906 by Universal Edition, together with other compositions by Mahler. Subsequently, he subjected the score to yet another revision, which was then published in a study score. It was this version that Rudolph Stephan included in volume 12 of his complete edition of Mahler’s works in 1978.

The manuscript of the original version was acquired by the Osborn Collection of the Music Library at Yale University. The first movement was published in 1969 by Belwin Mills in the United States in a provisional, not critical, edition. There followed performances and recordings of a three-movement „mongrel“ version, with the first movement representing the original version as published by Belwin Mills and movements 2 and 3 taken from the Weinberger/UE edition of the revised score.

The work as composed by Mahler in 1880 has first been performed in its entirety on 7th October 1997 in Manchester. It appeared in volume 3 of the supplement to the complete edition edited by Reinhold Kubik, who is also general editor of the complete edition.

From our online shop

World première

Wien (AT)
Gustav Mahler

Other works

Sign up for our newsletter!

You will regularly receive information about new scores with free downloads, current prize games and news about our composers.