COVID-19 Update

Despite the problems caused by the Corona-virus our Webshop and the contact forms on our website are fully available. You may also address your inquiries to Thank you for your understanding if our answer takes longer as usual because of the current restrictions. Your Universal Edition Team

Gustav Mahler: Das klagende Lied

  • for soli, mixed choir and orchestra
  • revised version 1899 in 2 movements
  • 3 3 3 3 - 4 4 3 1 - timp, perc(4), hp(2), str - off-stage ens: 3 2 4 0 - 4 2 0 0 - timp, perc
  • Duration: 40’
  • Soloists:
    Knabenalt ad lib.
  • Instrumentation details:
    1st flute
    2nd flute
    3rd flute (+picc)
    1st oboe
    2nd oboe
    3rd oboe (+c.a)
    1st clarinet in Bb (+cl(C)
    2nd clarinet in Bb (+cl(C)
    3rd clarinet in Bb (+cl(C)
    bass cl)
    1st bassoon
    2nd bassoon
    3rd bassoon (+cbsn)
    1st horn in F
    2nd horn in F
    3rd horn in F
    4th horn in F
    1st trumpet in F
    2nd trumpet in F
    3rd trumpet in F
    4th trumpet in F
    1st trombone
    2nd trombone
    3rd trombone
    bass tuba
    percussion: triangle
    cymbal, tam-tam, bass drum
    1st harp
    2nd harp
    violin I
    violin II
    fernorchestra: piccolo
    1st flute
    2nd flute
    1st oboe
    2nd oboe
    1st clarinet in Eb
    2nd clarinet in Eb
    1st clarinet in Bb
    2nd clarinet in Bb
    1st horn in F
    2nd horn in F
    3rd horn in F
    4th horn in F
    1st trumpet in Bb (or flugelhorn)
    2nd trumpet in Bb (or flugelhorn)
  • Choir: SATB
  • Composer: Gustav Mahler
  • Editor: Rudolf Stephan
  • Text author: Gustav Mahler


Work specifications


Publication Information

Please check again the data you have given - thank you very much.

The license as well as our terms and conditions are available in writing. By clicking the button "Send inquiry", you submit your data, which are checked by the Universal Edition. The Universal Edition is free to provide you with an offer on the basis of your information. From the transmission of your request, no claim can be derived for a license.

Work introduction

The work is based on poems written by Gustav Mahler and was completed in 1880. It consisted of three movements which bore the following titles:

Waldmärchen (A Tale from the Woods)

Der Spielmann (The Minstrel)

Hochzeitsstück (Wedding Piece)

The composer subjected the score to several revisions and eventually arrived at a version in which the first movement was omitted altogether and movements Nos 2 and 3 lost their titles and were thoroughly reworked. This new version was published in 1899 by Weinberger and premiered under Mahler’s baton in Vienna in 1901.

The work was taken over in 1906 by Universal Edition, together with other compositions by Mahler. Subsequently, he subjected the score to yet another revision, which was then published in a study score. It was this version that Rudolph Stephan included in volume 12 of his complete edition of Mahler’s works in 1978.

The manuscript of the original version was acquired by the Osborn Collection of the Music Library at Yale University. The first movement was published in 1969 by Belwin Mills in the United States in a provisional, not critical, edition. There followed performances and recordings of a three-movement „mongrel“ version, with the first movement representing the original version as published by Belwin Mills and movements 2 and 3 taken from the Weinberger/UE edition of the revised score.

The work as composed by Mahler in 1880 has first been performed in its entirety on 7th October 1997 in Manchester. It appeared in volume 3 of the supplement to the complete edition edited by Reinhold Kubik, who is also general editor of the complete edition.


Sample pages

World première

Wien (AT)
Gustav Mahler

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works