COVID-19 Update

Dear customers, we would like to inform you that due to the current situation concerning the novel corona virus, exit restrictions have been imposed in Austria. For this reason we kindly ask you to send all requests in written form to [email protected]. We ask for your patience in case we are not able to process your requests at the usual speed - due to legal regulations, companies in Austria are currently only able to operate at reduced capacity. However, we would like to assure you that Universal Edition will continue to look after its customers in times like these. Best regards, your Universal Edition team.

Rolf Liebermann: Die Schule der Frauen

(Arranger: Heinrich Strobel)

  • Opera buffa in 3 acts (1954/1955)
  • extended version
  • 1 1 1 1 - 2 1 1 0 - timp, perc, hpsd, str - in the auditorium (ad lib.): 0 0 2 1 - 2 1 1 1 - behind the scene: hn
  • Duration: 90’
  • Instrumentation details:
    1·1·1·1 - 2·1·1·0 - timp., perc. - hpsd. - str. - im auditorium (ad libitum): 0·0·2·1 - 2·1·1·1 - behind the scene: horn
  • Roles: Poquelin, baritone Arnolphe, bass-baritone Agnes, coloratura soprano (Soubrette) Horace, tenor Georgette, alto Oronte, bass
  • Composer: Rolf Liebermann
  • Librettist: Heinrich Strobel
  • Writer of pre-existing text: Molière
  • Arranger: Heinrich Strobel
  • Translator: Elisabeth MontaguHans WeigelPierre Angel

Work introduction

The storyline of Rolf Liebermann’s the 3-act opera buffa Die Schule der Frauen (1954–55), based on a libretto by Heinrich Strobel, was inspired by the French theatrical comedy L’école des femmes by Molière. Molière himself (alias Poquelin) directs the action in this comedy, commenting on the modern staging of his creation, intervening where necessary and even slipping into the role of a minor character. Liebermann’s music has an astonishing vitality and fusion of baroque motor rhythms and counterpoint, of expansive late-romantic melodiousness and harmony interwoven with dodecaphony.


The complete perusal score (PDF-preview)

World première

Salzburg (AT)
Wiener Philharmoniker
George Szell
Main soloists:
Anneliese Rothenberger - Agnes; Christa Ludwig - Georgette, Kurt Böhme - Arnolphe; Walter Berry - Poquelin; Nicolai Gedda - Horace; Alois Pernerstorfer - Oronte; Frank Pelleg, hpsd

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works