Henk Badings: Largo und Allegro

  • for string orchestra
  • Duration: 11’
  • Composer: Henk Badings

Work introduction

Scored for string orchestra, the Largo und Allegro is very often mentioned in the same breath as his Symphony No. 3 and the Symphonic Variations as the piece which drew wide attention to the young composer and made him foremost among Dutch composers. The work is remarkable for its strongly melodic expressiveness, tightly organised form and its mastery of counterpoint, while tonality is only seldom entirely abandoned, despite the many bitonal and polytonal harmonic elements.

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works