Jay Schwartz: Narcissus & Echo

  • Chamber opera (2003/2009)
  • for countertenor, viola, percussion and organ
  • CT, vla, perc(2), org
  • Duration: 85’
  • Soloists:
  • Instrumentation details:
  • Composer: Jay Schwartz
  • Librettist: Jay Schwartz
  • Commission: Fassung 2009: Kompositionsauftrag der Bayrischen Staatsoper München

Work introduction

The musical realization of Ovid's story is based on the mirroring between Narcissus and Echo; the instrumentation corresponds directly to this relationship: the viola, which appears in the staging, is the countertenor's equal. A sensitive play on very quite and delicate sounds as well as on the earthly organic timbres of the viola yields a chamber music setting of a very intimate kind. A staging of this score should make it possible to integrate both soloists as near as possible to the audience, presenting them even around and among the audience.  


The complete perusal score (PDF-preview)

World première

Fruchthalle, Kaiserslautern (DE)
Main soloists:
Ralf Peter, CT; Lila Brown, vla; Jay Schwartz, perc

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works