Leoš Janáček: Sinfonietta

Leoš Janáček Sinfonietta

Leoš Janáček: Sinfonietta

Year of composition:
Scored for:
for orchestra
Leoš Janáček
Jiří Zahrádka (2017)
4 2 4 2 - 4 12 4 1 - timp, perc, hp, t.tuba(2), bass tpt(2), str
Instrumentation details:
1st flute
2nd flute
3rd flute
4th flute (+picc)
1st oboe
2nd oboe (+c.a)
clarinet in Eb
1st clarinet in Bb
2nd clarinet in Bb
bass clarinet in Bb
1st bassoon
2nd bassoon
1st horn in F
2nd horn in F
3rd horn in F
4th horn in F
1st trumpet in F (+tpt(C))
2nd trumpet in F (+tpt(C))
3rd trumpet in F (+tpt(C))
1st trombone
2nd trombone
3rd trombone
4th trombone
1st trumpet in C in (Banda)
2nd trumpet in C in (Banda)
3rd trumpet in C in (Banda)
4th trumpet in C in (Banda)
5th trumpet in C in (Banda)
6th trumpet in C in (Banda)
7th trumpet in C in (Banda)
8th trumpet in C in (Banda)
9th trumpet in C in (Banda)
1st tenor tuba in Bb in (Banda)
2nd tenor tuba in Bb in (Banda)
1st bass trumpet in (Banda)
2nd bass trumpet in (Banda)
violin I
violin II
double bass
Venováno pani R. Newmarchové Frau Rosa Newmarch gewidmet Dedicated to Mrs Rosa Newmarch
More Less

The complete perusal score (PDF-preview)

Work introduction

The new critical and practical edition of Sinfonietta reflects all existing sources, including those recently discovered during the work on the edition. It is primarily based on the transcription of the score that was used to stage the premiere and then served as a print template. The transcription was subjected to the first press release, and contained the premiere manuscript orchestral voices, autograph and corrections. In principle, Sinfonietta is restored to the premiere version of 1926, when it was staged with the Czech Philharmonic Orchestra conductor Václav Talich.

However, the edition reflects some of the composer's wishes that were not taken into account at the premiere due to technical reasons and then did not make it into the edition (e.g. 12 trumpets used in the second sentence). The notes also point to the additions made by Václav Talich to the instrumentation. The use of these additions, which made it into the first edition, are thus at the discretion of the conductor. Elimination of errors and inaccuracies, which arose already in the transcription, when the copyist Václav Sedlá?ek inaccurately or incorrectly understood Janá?ek's illegible autograph, was also part of the work when preparing the edition. According to sources, the editor also added further dynamics, specified the tempo and corrected errors. In the notes, the score also makes some additions that Janá?ek tolerated, but it is not clear whether he completely identified himself with them (e.g. additions made by the conductor Otto Klemperer at the end).

The edition also includes possible solutions for problematic sound bottlenecks designed by Janá?ek's chief conductor Charles Mackerras. The edition also contains a detailed introduction, which elaborates on the genesis of the work and Janá?ek's views on interpretation of the composition, as evidenced by the sources (use of a military band, performance of a wind ensemble, type of instruments favoured by Janá?ek, etc.)

From our online shop

Next performances

20 Mar


Concertgebouw, Amsterdam (NL)

22 Mar


Concertgebouw, Amsterdam (NL)

World première

Rudolfinum, Prag (CZ)
Ceská filharmonie
Jirí Belohlávek

Other works

Sign up for our newsletter!

You will regularly receive information about new scores with free downloads, current prize games and news about our composers.