COVID-19 Update

Dear customers, we would like to inform you that due to the current situation concerning the novel corona virus, exit restrictions have been imposed in Austria. For this reason we kindly ask you to send all requests in written form to [email protected]. Of course, you are still welcome to use the various contact forms on our website and place orders online in our webshop. We ask for your patience in case we are not able to process your requests at the usual speed - due to legal regulations, companies in Austria are currently only able to operate at reduced capacity. However, we would like to assure you that Universal Edition will continue to look after its customers in times like these. Best regards, your Universal Edition team.

Johannes Maria Staud: K'in

  • for bassoon and string quartet
  • Duration: 12’
  • Instrumentation details:
    1st violin
    2nd violin
  • Composer: Johannes Maria Staud
  • Dedication: für Pascal Gallois und das Hugo Wolf Quartett
  • Commission: Auftragswerk der Klangspuren Schwaz, des Concertgebouw Brügge und der Cité de la Musique Paris

Work introduction

In the Mayan language, K’in means “sun.” It is also the smallest unit in the Mayan calendar, corresponding to one day.

On 21 December 2012, when I was in the middle of working on this piece, the world was supposed to end – at least according to some apocalyptic prophets who based their predictions on the Long Count of the Mayan calendar, but who, in truth, had probably read too much H.P. Lovecraft.

But the world did not end; I took that as a fine motive for naming my piece after the Mayan sun (which indeed rose again on 22 December 2012).

This thoroughly ritual piece gradually takes on the character of an evocation, phrase by phrase. The bassoon is often contrasted with the string quartet, the latter blocky, compact and tuned scordatura.

K’in is dedicated to my dear friends Pascal Gallois and the Hugo Wolf Quartet.

Johannes Maria Staud


The complete perusal score (PDF-preview)

World première

Innsbruck (AT)
Hugo Wolf Quartett
Main soloists:
Pascal Gallois, fg

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works