COVID-19 Update

Dear customers, we would like to inform you that due to the current situation concerning the novel corona virus, exit restrictions have been imposed in Austria. For this reason we kindly ask you to send all requests in written form to [email protected]. We ask for your patience in case we are not able to process your requests at the usual speed - due to legal regulations, companies in Austria are currently only able to operate at reduced capacity. However, we would like to assure you that Universal Edition will continue to look after its customers in times like these. Best regards, your Universal Edition team.

Johannes Maria Staud: Tondo

  • Preludio for orchestra (2009-2010)
  • for orchestra
  • 2 2 2 2 - 4 2 2 1 - perc(3), cel, pno, str
  • Duration: 11’
  • Instrumentation details:
    1st flute
    2nd flute (+picc
    alto fl)
    1st oboe
    2nd oboe (+c.a)
    1st clarinet in Bb
    2nd clarinet in Bb (+bass cl(Bb))
    1st bassoon
    2nd bassoon
    1st horn in F
    2nd horn in F
    3rd horn in F
    4th horn in F
    1st trumpet in Bb
    2nd trumpet in Bb
    1st trombone
    2nd trombone
    1st percussion
    2nd percussion
    3rd percussion
    violin I
    violin II
  • Composer: Johannes Maria Staud
  • Dedication: für Elisabeth Staud
  • Commission: Auftragswerk der Staatskapelle Dresden

Work introduction

Tondo is the first of three works that Johannes Maria Staud composed for the Staatskapelle Dresden during his tenure as “Capell-Compositeur” for the 2010–2011 season. Lasting some 11 minutes, the 4-part piece is grouped around the central sound of the 4 horns and is characterised by a big and compact,yet highly intricate sound. Composed with a circular structure, the work can finish after one run-through or can be repeated da capo, as long as required or as external conditions permit.


World première

Semperoper, Dresden (DE)
Staatskapelle Dresden
Christoph Eschenbach

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works