COVID-19 Update

Despite the problems caused by the Corona-virus our Webshop and the contact forms on our website are fully available. You may also address your inquiries to Thank you for your understanding if our answer takes longer as usual because of the current restrictions. Your Universal Edition Team

Joseph Marx: Castelli Romani

  • in Eb major
  • for piano and orchestra
  • 2 2 2 2 - 4 2 2 0 - timp, perc, hp, cel, glock, mand, str
  • Duration: 32’
  • Instrumentation details:
    1st flute
    2nd flute
    1st oboe
    2nd oboe
    1st clarinet in Bb
    2nd clarinet in Bb
    1st bassoon
    2nd bassoon
    1st horn in F
    2nd horn in F
    3rd horn in F
    4th horn in F
    1st trumpet in C
    2nd trumpet in C
    1st trombone
    2nd trombone
    violin I
    violin II
  • Composer: Joseph Marx
  • Table of contents:
    Villa Hadriana
  • Dedication: der Italien-Kameradin Anna gewidmet

Work introduction

Composed 10 years after his first piano concerto, Marx was inspired to write the second, the “Romantic,” by his impressions of Roman ruins and the historical associations the surrounding landscape evoked. The piece is in E-flat major, a sign of the composer’s conviction that tonality still had more than enough potential to withstand rejection. The music has no antiqued patina; it is bright, sunny, airy, occasionally wistful – Romantic, in other words. Its three movements (Allegro, Andante, Presto) bear distinct references to Villa Hadriana, Tusculum and Frascati.


The complete perusal score (PDF-preview)

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works