COVID-19 Update

Despite the problems caused by the Corona-virus our Webshop and the contact forms on our website are fully available. You may also address your inquiries to Thank you for your understanding if our answer takes longer as usual because of the current restrictions. Your Universal Edition Team

Juan de Dios Magdaleno: String quartet No. 2 ‘Lorenz’ Traummusik’

  • for string quartet
  • Duration: 13’
  • Instrumentation details:
    1st violin
    2nd violin
  • Composer: Juan de Dios Magdaleno
  • Commission: Juan de Dios Magdaleno ist Gewinner des Ö1 Talentebörse-Kompositionspreises 2014. Eine Kooperation der ORF/Ö1 Talentebörse, der Oesterreichischen Nationalbank und der Universal Edition. Juan de Dios Magdaleno was awarded the Ö1 ‚Talentebörse‘ composition prize in 2014. A cooperation between the ORF/Ö1 ‚Talentebörse‘, the Oesterreichische Nationalbank and Universal Edition.

arrangements & translations

Work specifications



Arrangement Information

Please check again the data you have given - thank you very much.

The license as well as our terms and conditions are available in writing. By clicking the button "Submit" you submit your data, which are checked by the Universal Edition. The Universal Edition is free to provide you with an offer on the basis of your information. From the transmission of your request, no claim can be derived for a license.

Work introduction

I wrote this work between winter 2014 and summer 2015; it was commissioned by the Ö1 Talentbörse–Kompositionspreis 2014 [“Austrian Broadcasting Corp. 2014 Composition Prize”], a co-op effort of Austrian Broadcasting, the Austrian National Bank and Universal Edition.

Lorenz Traummusik is my second string quartet; it relates to the American mathematician Edward Lorenz, considered the father of chaos theory. I concentrate in the piece mainly on the various temporal aspects of music, microtonality, characteristics of Klangfarbe and musical application of chaos theory, which particularly interests me at the moment.

Lorenz Traummusik is subdivided into 24 short formal sections, in which I attempted to explore concepts such as “nonlinear development” and “alteration from the musical viewpoint.” In the course of the piece, a nonlinear musical discourse evolves in a state of continuous development, thereby constantly recontextualising the qualities and behaviour of the various elements which form the work’s differing constituent parts.

Lorenz Traummusik is dedicated to Virve Magdaleno and the Minetti String Quartet.

Juan de Dios Magdaleno


World première

Muth, Wien (AT)
Minetti Quartett

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works