Julian Yu: Concerto

Julian Yu Concerto

Julian Yu: Concerto

op. 38
Year of composition:
Scored for:
for marimba and small orchestra
Julian Yu
1 1 1 0 - 1 1 0 0 - perc, str
Instrumentation details:
1(picc)·1·1·0 - 1·1·0·0 - perc, strings
More Less



The complete perusal score (PDF-preview)

Work introduction

This is the first concerto that I have ever written. Brett Kelly, the Artistic Director of the Academy of Melbourne, suggested that I write it for Robert Clarke, principal percussionist of the Melbourne Symphony Orchestra. To show my appreciation for his support, I have dedicated the piece to the Academy of Melbourne.

This piece has three movements, and has also retained other characteristics of the traditional concerto such as virtuosity in the solo part, the symphonic development of the orchestral part, and a cadenza (here mostly with the timpanist).

I have always been fascinated by Western classical music - by its organisation, discipline and formularisation. These qualities also belong to Chinese folk music. To some people they mean limitation and the end of creation, but I think they are important and give the composer still greater scope for freedom and creativity by providing a firm base from which to work.

While writing this piece, I adopted the Chinese method of ornamenting a pre-existing piece until it becomes a new one. To make more interesting listening I leave the audience to guess what the original pieces were for each of the movements. They are all well-known works from the Western tradition.

Julian Yu

Special prints


Julian Yu: Concerto

study score
for marimba and small orchestra , 21’
Instr.: 1 1 1 0 - 1 1 0 0 - perc, str

World première

Hawthorn Town Hall, Melbourne (AU)
The Academy of Melbourne
Brett Kelly
Main soloists:
Robert Clarke, mar

Other works

Sign up for our newsletter!

You will regularly receive information about new scores with free downloads, current prize games and news about our composers.