Julian Yu: First Australian Suite

Julian Yu First Australian Suite
First Australian Suite

Julian Yu: First Australian Suite

op. 22
Year of composition:
Scored for:
for chamber orchestra
Julian Yu
1 1 1 1 - 1 1 1 0 - hp, perc - str
Instrumentation details:
1(/picc)·1·1·1 - 1·1·1·0 - hp - perc - strings
More Less


First Australian Suite

Work introduction

It is non-programmatic, the name referring to the composer’s location during its composition rather than to the content. In fact the piece grew out of one of the composer’s vocal works, In the sunshine of Bach.

First Australian Suite consists of three movements, each based on a different work by J S. Bach and each constructed using different principles. The first takes as its framework a canon from Bach’s A Musical Offering. Its original palindromic form is still there behind the enlargement and ornamentation to which the canon has been subjected. The second movement is based on the Fugue in C minor from the second volume of Bach’s The well-tempered Klavier; each voice is expanded into three staggered parts. The third movement contains many of Bach’s well-known themes (including that based on the letters B-A-C-H), which are combined contrapuntally and ornamented.

Julian Yu

Other works

Sign up for our newsletter!

You will regularly receive information about new scores with free downloads, current prize games and news about our composers.