COVID-19 Update

Despite the problems caused by the Corona-virus our Webshop and the contact forms on our website are fully available. You may also address your inquiries to Thank you for your understanding if our answer takes longer as usual because of the current restrictions. Your Universal Edition Team

Julian Yu: Filigree Clouds

  • Filigree Clouds (1990/1991)
  • for orchestra
  • 4 2 3 3 - 4 2 3 1- perc(4) - cl - hp - str
  • Duration: 21’
  • Instrumentation details:
    4(1 & 2 = picc)·2·3·3(3 = contra)- 4·2·3·1- 4 perc - pf - hp - strings
  • Composer: Julian Yu

Work introduction

Hsiang-Wen was the winning work of the inaugural Paul Lowin Orchestral Prize in 1991.

The music is non-programmatic, and I chose the title only after finishing the piece. Nevertheless, the title is intended to closely reflect the music: wen means "coloured filigree-pattern clouds" and "filigree" conveys perfectly the delicate and detailed texture of the piece.

During composition, I did not make direct use of Chinese folk music material (even though this sometimes seems to be an easy road to success). Instead I concentrated on the structure, integrity and meaning of the music, while hoping that in some subtle way the richness of the many different musical influences and styles that I have absorbed over the years will naturally be felt within it.

Julian Yu

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works