COVID-19 Update

Despite the problems caused by the Corona-virus our Webshop and the contact forms on our website are fully available. You may also address your inquiries to Thank you for your understanding if our answer takes longer as usual because of the current restrictions. Your Universal Edition Team

Karol Szymanowski: Konzert-Ouverture

  • in E major
  • for orchestra
  • 3 3 4 3 - 6 3 3 1 - timp, perc(3), hp, str
  • Duration: 16’
  • Instrumentation details:
    1st flute
    2nd flute
    3rd flute (+picc)
    1st oboe
    2nd oboe
    3rd oboe (+c.a)
    1st clarinet in A
    2nd clarinet in A
    3rd clarinet in A (+cl(Eb))
    bass clarinet in Bb
    1st bassoon
    2nd bassoon
    3rd bassoon (+cbsn)
    1st horn in F
    2nd horn in F
    3rd horn in F
    4th horn in F
    5th horn in F
    6th horn in F
    1st trumpet in C
    2nd trumpet in C
    3rd trumpet in C
    1st trombone
    2nd trombone
    3rd trombone
    violin I
    violin II
  • Composer: Karol Szymanowski

Work introduction

The Concert Overture of the 23-year old Karol Szymanowski reflects his passionate ambition at the time to create modern Polish music of European magnitude. The influence of the German late Romantics is unmistakable. In this early creative period a desire to provoke also continues to play a role throughout Szymanowski’s work – as when he looks forward to seeing the critics ‘leaving the hall with curses on their blue-stained lips’. The critics did not fail to wreak their revenge either, promptly accusing him of betraying the classic Polish national music, of which they considered Fréderic Chopin the patriarch.

The Concert Overture at


Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works