Leoš Janáček: Sinfonietta (arranged by: Heinz Stolba)

Leoš Janáček Sinfonietta

Leoš Janáček: Sinfonietta (arranged by: Heinz Stolba)

Year of composition:
Scored for:
for orchestra
Leoš Janáček
Heinz Stolba (2017)
3 2 3 2 - 4 4 3 1 - timp, perc, hp, str
Instrumentation details:
1st flute
2nd flute
3rd flute (+picc)
1st oboe
2nd oboe (+c.a)
1st clarinet in Bb
2nd clarinet in Bb (+cl(Eb))
bass clarinet in Bb
1st bassoon
2nd bassoon
1st horn in F
2nd horn in F
3rd horn in F
4th horn in F
1st trumpet in C
2nd trumpet in C
3rd trumpet in C
4th trumpet in C
1st trombone
2nd trombone
3rd trombone
violin I
violin II
double bass
More Less

The complete perusal score (PDF-preview)

Work introduction

This reduced version of Sinfonietta is based on Ji?í Zahrádka’s new critical edition of the work. The motivation to prepare a new reduced version was to retain the festive effect of the fanfares at the beginning and end of the work, despite avoiding a separately positioned, additional group of brass instruments as prescribed in the original. In contrast to earlier reduced versions, in the present version all passages that were intended for the separate group of brass instruments in the original version are also entirely played by brass instruments. While a total of 25 brass instruments were required to perform the original version, in the present reduced version there are only 12. Moreover, two additional woodwinds were also cut down on, reducing the original number of wind instruments from 37 to 22, without significantly impacting the sonic result. In addition, the fanfares in the first movement and at the end of the last movement are intended to be performed while standing, which should largely compensate for the fact that the musicians cannot be separately positioned.

It is beyond doubt that Janá?ek’s original composition with the additional brass instruments positioned separately from the orchestra produces an extraordinary effect. Entirely in keeping with the original idea, the present reduced version now makes it possible to perform this marvellous work with normal orchestral instrumentation without impacting the festive character of the fanfares or reducing the overall effect.

Heinz Stolba

World première

Vatroslav Lisinski Concert Hall, Zagreb (HR)
Zagreb Philharmonic Orchestra
Hans Graf

Other works

Sign up for our newsletter!

You will regularly receive information about new scores with free downloads, current prize games and news about our composers.