Leoš Janáček: Suite (arranged by: Sir Charles Mackerras)

Leoš Janáček Suite

Leoš Janáček: Suite (arranged by: Sir Charles Mackerras)

Year of composition:
from the opera ‘The cunning little vixen’ (Mackerras)
Scored for:
for orchestra
Leoš Janáček
Sir Charles Mackerras (07.08.2006)
4 3 3 3 - 4 2 3 1 - timp, perc, hp, cel, str
Instrumentation details:
1st flute
2nd flute
3rd flute (+picc)
4th flute (+picc)
1st oboe
2nd oboe
cor anglais
1st clarinet in Bb
2nd clarinet in Bb (+cl(Eb))
bass clarinet in Bb
1st bassoon
2nd bassoon
3rd bassoon (+cbsn)
1st horn in F
2nd horn in F
3rd horn in F
4th horn in F
1st trumpet in F
2nd trumpet in F
3rd trumpet in F (ad lib)
1st trombone
2nd trombone
3rd trombone
violin I
violin II
More Less



The complete perusal score (PDF-preview)

Work introduction

The Suite is based entirely on music from the Act One. This Act is largely balletic, one can almost see all the animals and insects as well as the capture of the Vixen by the Forester and her escape. Up until now the Suite has always been played in an orchestration by Václav Talich, who, as much as I revered him, did rather odd things with it. During his Directorship of the National Theatre, he had said that he could not possibly perform the Vixen there unless it was entirely re-orchestrated. He engaged two people to do so, which today seems incredible because the orchestration of the opera is one of Janá?ek’s most colourful and original. Talich’s re-orchestration of the Suite has become standard and beautiful as it sounds, it rather emasculates the very acid sounds produced for the insects and the contrasts that Janá?ek achieves with his orchestration, which is strange but certainly not amateurish. I think that everybody has to agree that Janá?ek’s original orchestration of these passages sounds more characteristic. Talich’s and my Suite contains the same music simply being Act One played from beginning to end with certain small cuts. The difference is that I adhere to Janá?ek’s original orchestration.

Sir Charles Mackerras

This Suite is based on the scientifically edited new edition of the opera “Das schlaue Füchslein” by Ji?í Zahrádka.

Special prints


Leoš Janáček: Suite

full score
for orchestra , 22’
Instr.: 4 3 3 3 - 4 2 3 1 - timp, perc, hp, cel, str


Leoš Janáček: Suite

study score
for orchestra , 22’
Instr.: 4 3 3 3 - 4 2 3 1 - timp, perc, hp, cel, str

Other works

Sign up for our newsletter!

You will regularly receive information about new scores with free downloads, current prize games and news about our composers.