COVID-19 Update

Despite the problems caused by the Corona-virus our Webshop and the contact forms on our website are fully available. You may also address your inquiries to Thank you for your understanding if our answer takes longer as usual because of the current restrictions. Your Universal Edition Team

Leoš Janáček: Suite

(Arranger: Václav Talich)

  • from the opera ‘The Cunning Little Vixen’ (Talich) (1937)
  • for orchestra
  • revised by Václav Smetácek
  • 4 3 3 3 - 4 3 3 1 - timp, perc(3), hp, cel (+car), str
  • Duration: 16’
  • Instrumentation details:
    1st flute
    2nd flute
    3rd flute (1st picc)
    4th flute (2nd picc)
    1st oboe
    2nd oboe
    3rd oboe (+cor anglais)
    1st clarinet in Bb
    2nd clarinet in Bb
    bass clarinet in Bb
    1st bassoon
    2nd bassoon
    1st horn in F
    2nd horn in F
    3rd horn in F
    4th horn in F
    1st trumpet in C
    2nd trumpet in C
    3rd trumpet in C
    1st trombone
    2nd trombone
    3rd trombone
    1st percussion
    2nd percussion
    3rd percussion
    celesta (+carillon)
    violin I
    violin II
  • Composer: Leoš Janáček
  • Arranger: Václav Talich
  • Adaptation: Václav Smetácek

Purchase information

Work and composer specifications

Personal details

This request is non-binding and doesn't contain any purchase obligation.

Work introduction

The conductor Václav Talich transformed the music of Act One of The Cunning Little Vixen into a suite for orchestra in 1937, to bring the opera’s unique atmosphere into the concert hall. His fellow conductor Václav Smetá?ek undertook a reworking of the arrangement in 1965.

The two movements, played without a break, correspond to the act’s two scenes. The first scene is about the forest, fauna and nature, disrupted by the forester who captures the vixen Sharp-Ears, while the second scene unfolds on the forester’s farm, where nature domesticated long ago encounters the feral; the captured vixen gives the resident dachshund the cold shoulder, kills the chickens – and flees.


Sample pages

World première

Prag (CZ)

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works