Leoš Janáček: Suite

(Arranger: Frantisek Jilek)

  • from the opera ‘From the House of the Dead’ (1990)
  • for orchestra
  • 4 3 3 3 - 4 3 3 1 - timp, perc(3), hp, cel, bass tpt, str
  • Duration: 20’
  • Instrumentation details:
    1st flute
    2nd flute
    3rd flute (+picc)
    4th flute (+picc)
    1st oboe
    2nd oboe
    cor anglais
    1st clarinet in Bb
    2nd clarinet in Bb (+cl(Eb))
    3rd clarinet in Bb (+bass cl)
    1st bassoon
    2nd bassoon
    3rd bassoon
    1st horn in F
    2nd horn in F
    3rd horn in F
    4th horn in F
    1st trumpet in F
    2nd trumpet in F
    3rd trumpet in F
    bass trumpet (+tenor tuba)
    1st trombone
    2nd trombone
    3rd trombone
    violin I(18)
    violin II(16)
  • Composer: Leoš Janáček
  • Arranger: Frantisek Jilek


Work specifications


Publication Information

Please check again the data you have given - thank you very much.

The license as well as our terms and conditions are available in writing. By clicking the button "Send inquiry", you submit your data, which are checked by the Universal Edition. The Universal Edition is free to provide you with an offer on the basis of your information. From the transmission of your request, no claim can be derived for a license.

Work introduction

The Brno conductor František Jilek prepared the opera suite From the House of the Dead in the 1970s. The symphonic prelude to the opera forms the first of the suite’s three movements; a solemn mood predominates, reflecting the hard life of the convicts in Siberia. The second movement is based on the music to the impudent, humorous pantomimes, abounding in burlesque jollity, while the third movement builds on the released convict’s farewell music. Here, we find again the expressively stylised melodies to the words “Orel cár” (eagle czar) and “Svoboda, Svobodi?ka” (Freedom, O Freedom), sung by the chorus of convicts in the opera and played here by the brass instruments, resounding with ceremonial jubilance.

Jaroslav Smolka


The complete perusal score (PDF-preview)

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works