COVID-19 Update

Dear customers, we would like to inform you that due to the current situation concerning the novel corona virus, exit restrictions have been imposed in Austria. For this reason we kindly ask you to send all requests in written form to [email protected]. We ask for your patience in case we are not able to process your requests at the usual speed - due to legal regulations, companies in Austria are currently only able to operate at reduced capacity. However, we would like to assure you that Universal Edition will continue to look after its customers in times like these. Best regards, your Universal Edition team.

Luciano Berio: Bewegung

  • for orchestra
  • 3 3 3 3 - 4 4 3 1 - perc(3), hp, pno,, alto sax, t.sax, str
  • Duration: 14’
  • Instrumentation details:
    1st flute
    2nd flute
    3rd flute
    1st oboe
    2nd oboe
    cor anglais
    1st clarinet in Bb
    2nd clarinet in Bb
    bass clarinet in Bb
    alto saxophone in Eb
    tenor saxophone in Bb
    1st bassoon
    2nd bassoon
    1st horn in F
    2nd horn in F
    3rd horn in F
    4th horn in F
    1st trumpet in C
    2nd trumpet in C
    3rd trumpet in C
    4th trumpet in C
    1st trombone
    2nd trombone
    3rd trombone
    bass tuba
    3 tam-tams
    electric organ
    violin I
    violin II
  • Composer: Luciano Berio
  • Dedication: To Marina and Stefano
  • Commission: Commissioned by The Scottish National Orchestra

Work introduction

Bewegung, written in 1971 for the Scottish National Orchestra and revised in 1984, is quasi una passacaglia unfolding very slowly within a very limited range of distinctive characters. The process of transformations goes so far as to modify into “melody” the neutral and ostinato element of the opening. In a relatively short time and with relatively simple elements of periodic, repetitive and circular nature, Bewegung evokes the image of movement in a “motionless”, suspended time. I’m not really convinced that music can suggest images of this kind; if I mention it now, it is only because Bewegung was really suggested to me by a dream I had one night, a dream about a passacaglia...

Luciano Berio


The complete perusal score (PDF-preview)

World première

Glasgow (GB)
Scottish National Orchestra
Luciano Berio

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works