COVID-19 Update

Dear customers, we would like to inform you that due to the current situation concerning the novel corona virus, exit restrictions have been imposed in Austria. For this reason we kindly ask you to send all requests in written form to [email protected]. We ask for your patience in case we are not able to process your requests at the usual speed - due to legal regulations, companies in Austria are currently only able to operate at reduced capacity. However, we would like to assure you that Universal Edition will continue to look after its customers in times like these. Best regards, your Universal Edition team.

Luciano Berio: Chemins III

  • (su Chemins II) (1968/1973)
  • for viola and orchestra
  • 4 0 4 3 - 4 4 3 1 - perc(4), hp(2), cel,, str
  • Duration: 15’
  • Soloists:
  • Instrumentation details:
    1st flute
    2nd flute
    3rd flute
    1st clarinet in Bb
    2nd clarinet in Bb
    3rd clarinet in Bb
    bass clarinet in Bb
    1st bassoon
    2nd bassoon
    1st horn in F
    2nd horn in F
    3rd horn in F
    4th horn in F
    1st trumpet in C
    2nd trumpet in C
    3rd trumpet in C
    4th trumpet in C
    1st trombone
    2nd trombone
    3rd trombone
    1st percussion
    2nd percussion
    3rd percussion
    4th percussion
    1st harp
    2nd harp
    electric organ
    violin I
    violin II
  • Composer: Luciano Berio

Work introduction

“Rien de ce que l’on fait n’est jamais fini,” wrote Berio for the premiere performance of this work: “Nothing one does is ever finished.” Sequenza VI is a good example; initially, Berio discovered the possibilities of a work for viola and ensemble (Chemins II), further developing it later on into an orchestral work (Chemins IIb). In Chemins IIc it became a concerto for bass clarinet and orchestra and ultimately, in Chemins III, a viola concerto.

Like all the other versions, this work is a tour de force for the soloist, as the instrument tries to prevail over hostile forces – the orchestra – in the course of the concerto. At the end, the viola stands alone, victorious but exhausted; it has strength enough for one short tremolo, otherwise wearily playing isolated notes until the music abates entirely.


The complete perusal score (PDF-preview)

World première

Paris (FR)
Ensemble Musique Vivante
Luciano Berio
Main soloists:
und Orchestre Philharmonique de l'ORTF; Walter Trampler

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works