COVID-19 Update

Dear customers, we would like to inform you that due to the current situation concerning the novel corona virus, exit restrictions have been imposed in Austria. For this reason we kindly ask you to send all requests in written form to [email protected]. Of course, you are still welcome to use the various contact forms on our website and place orders online in our webshop. We ask for your patience in case we are not able to process your requests at the usual speed - due to legal regulations, companies in Austria are currently only able to operate at reduced capacity. However, we would like to assure you that Universal Edition will continue to look after its customers in times like these. Best regards, your Universal Edition team.

Luciano Berio: Chemins IV

  • (su Sequenza VII) (1975)
  • for oboe and 11 strings
  • vln(3), vla(3), vc(3), cb(2)
  • Duration: 10’
  • Instrumentation details:
    3 vln, 3 vla, 3 vc, 2 cb
  • Composer: Luciano Berio

Work introduction

Chemins IV, for oboe and eleven strings, can be listened to as a commentary to my Sequenza VII for oboe (1969), a commentary that amplifies and develops certain harmonic aspects of the original Sequenza. The Sequenza becomes in fact the generator of new instrumental lines, which in turn make explicit its latent polyphony around a pivot - an ever-present B - that puts into perspective all the subsequent harmonic transformations. Like a reverberating chamber, the development of Chemins IV mirrors and shatters the elements of Sequenza VII, sometimes receiving their anticipated echo in such a way that for the listener the oboe part seems generated by the eleven strings.

Luciano Berio


The complete perusal score (PDF-preview)

World première

London (GB)
London Sinfonietta
Luciano Berio
Main soloists:
Heinz Holliger, ob

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works