COVID-19 Update

Despite the problems caused by the Corona-virus our Webshop and the contact forms on our website are fully available. You may also address your inquiries to Thank you for your understanding if our answer takes longer as usual because of the current restrictions. Your Universal Edition Team

Luciano Berio: Compass

  • Recital (1994)
  • for piano and orchestra
  • 4 3 4 3 - 3 3 3 1 - timp, perc(2), hp, cel, alto sax, t.sax, str
  • Duration: 45’
  • Soloists:
  • Instrumentation details:
    1st piccolo
    2nd piccolo
    1st flute
    2nd flute
    1st oboe
    2nd oboe
    cor anglais
    clarinet in Eb
    1st clarinet in Bb
    2nd clarinet in Bb
    bass clarinet in Bb
    alto saxophone in Eb
    tenor saxophone in Bb
    1st bassoon
    2nd bassoon
    1st horn in F
    2nd horn in F
    3rd horn in F
    1st trumpet in C (+tpt(D))
    2nd trumpet in C
    3rd trumpet in C
    1st trombone
    2nd trombone
    3rd trombone
    bass tuba
    1st percussion
    2nd percussion
    violin I
    violin II
  • Composer: Luciano Berio

Work introduction

Renzo Piano and I wanted Compass (a danced recital for piano and orchestra) to be a sort of three parts invention where the music, the visual elements and the choreography, would develop indipendently from each other and could occasionally meet in complete unanimity. But the third “part”, the choreography, was absent : unless you are willing to entrust choreographic dignity to an incoherent exibition of common places prompted by démi tours, by pas de bourrées, coupés, entrechats and pas de deux. It is surprising that in the Zürich Opera House - so exemplary in so many aspects - Renzo Piano’s work and mine had to share the stage with a perfectly useless choreography not even worthy of a Christmas Show.

Luciano Berio


The complete perusal score (PDF-preview)

World première

Opernhaus, Zürich (CH)
Manfred Honeck
Main soloists:
Folco Vichi, pno

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works