COVID-19 Update

Despite the problems caused by the Corona-virus our Webshop and the contact forms on our website are fully available. You may also address your inquiries to Thank you for your understanding if our answer takes longer as usual because of the current restrictions. Your Universal Edition Team

Luciano Berio: Concerto II

  • (echoing curves) (1988-1989)
  • for piano and 2 instrumental groups
  • group A: 3 2 4 3 - 2 2 2 1 - t.sax, cel, vla(3), vc(3), cb(3); group B: 1 1 1 0 - 3 2 1 0 - alto sax,, vln(20), vla(6), vc(4), cb(4)
  • Duration: 25’
  • Soloists:
  • Instrumentation details:
    group A: 1st flute
    2nd flute
    3rd flute
    cor anglais
    1st clarinet in Bb
    2nd clarinet in Bb
    3rd clarinet in Bb
    bass clarinet in Bb
    tenor saxophone in Bb (+alto sax(Eb))
    1st bassoon
    2nd bassoon
    1st horn in F
    2nd horn in F
    1st trumpet in C
    2nd trumpet in C
    1st trombone
    2nd trombone
    bass tuba
    contrabass(3) group B: piccolo
    clarinet in Eb
    alto saxophone in Eb
    1st horn in F
    2nd horn in F
    3rd horn in F
    piccolo trumpet in D
    trumpet in C
    electric organ
  • Composer: Luciano Berio
  • Dedication: à Daniel Barenboim
  • Commission: Commandé du Ministère des Affaires Culturelles 1977 pour l'Orchestre de Paris Création réalisée avec l'aide de la Fondation Total pour la Musique

Work introduction

This piece is a typical example of Berio’s way of thinking as a composer; it is related to the Sequenze and their reworking into the Chemins. Its basis is "points on the curve to find …" (1974) for piano and 22 instruments, which Berio incorporated 15 years later in Concerto II in a broadened scope, thus realising a plan he had already had in mind when working on the earlier piece.

Although the work centres on the piano, it is not is not juxtaposed with the two ensembles; instead, it joins in a chamber-music relationship with them, playing together with soloists in both groups and mixing amongst instrumental layers.


Sample pages

World première

Paris (FR)
Pierre Boulez
Main soloists:
Daniel Barenboim

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works