COVID-19 Update

Despite the problems caused by the Corona-virus our Webshop and the contact forms on our website are fully available. You may also address your inquiries to Thank you for your understanding if our answer takes longer as usual because of the current restrictions. Your Universal Edition Team

Luciano Berio: Epiphanies

  • for female voice and orchestra
  • 4 3 4 3 - 4 4 4 1 - perc(6), hp(2), cel, vln.A(8), vln.B(8), vln.C(8), vla(8), vc(8), cb(6)
  • Duration: 30’
  • Soloists:
  • Instrumentation details:
    1st flute
    2nd flute
    3rd flute (+picc)
    4th flute (+picc)
    1st oboe
    2nd oboe
    cor anglais
    clarinet in Eb
    1st clarinet in Bb
    2nd clarinet in Bb
    bass clarinet
    1st bassoon
    2nd bassoon
    1st horn in F
    2nd horn in F
    3rd horn in F
    4th horn in F
    1st trumpet
    2nd trumpet
    3rd trumpet
    4th trumpet
    1st trombone
    2nd trombone
    3rd trombone
    contrabass trombone
    bass tuba (+t.tuba(Bb))
    1st percussion
    2nd percussion
    3rd percussion
    vibraphone (+xyl)
    1st harp
    2nd harp
    celesta (
    violin A(8)
    violin B(8)
    violin C(8)
  • Composer: Luciano Berio
  • Text author: Bertolt BrechtJames JoyceAntonio MachadoMarcel ProustEdoardo SanguinetiClaude Simon
  • Dedication: Written for Riccardo Muti and the Philadelphia Orchestra

Work introduction

Dennis Russell Davies and Luciano Berio talk about Epiphanies:

Luciano Berio’s Epifanie for female voice and large orchestra, first performed in Donaueschingen in 1961, gives its interpreter (the conductor) various options to choose from regarding the ordering of the work’s various sections. For the revised version of the work, Ephiphanies, completed in 1991 and written for Riccardo Muti and the Philadelphia Orchestra, Berio fixed the order of the texts sung by the soloist definitively. In the selection of these texts – taken from Marcel Proust, Antonio Machado, James Joyce, Edoardo Sanguineti, Claude Simon and Bertolt Brecht – Berio followed dramaturgical advice given by Umberto Eco.


The complete perusal score (PDF-preview)

World première

Philadelphia (US)
Philadelphia Orchestra
Luciano Berio
Main soloists:
Charlotte Hellekant

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works