COVID-19 Update

Dear customers, we would like to inform you that due to the current situation concerning the novel corona virus, exit restrictions have been imposed in Austria. For this reason we kindly ask you to send all requests in written form to [email protected]. We ask for your patience in case we are not able to process your requests at the usual speed - due to legal regulations, companies in Austria are currently only able to operate at reduced capacity. However, we would like to assure you that Universal Edition will continue to look after its customers in times like these. Best regards, your Universal Edition team.

Luciano Berio: Feuerklavier

  • from "6 Encores" (1989)
  • for piano
  • Duration: 2’
  • Instrumentation details:
  • Composer: Luciano Berio
  • Dedication: for Peter Serkin
  • Remarks: Published in UE33013 "6 Encores".

Work introduction

This music deals with an entire world, miniaturised into less than three minutes. It begins with a tremolo which becomes faster and faster, stormier, and ever more extreme in its dynamics, expanding the sonic scope – until the piece makes its farewell, quiet and spent, with a few short chords.


World première

New York (US)
Main soloists:
Peter Serkin

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works