COVID-19 Update

Despite the problems caused by the Corona-virus our Webshop and the contact forms on our website are fully available. You may also address your inquiries to Thank you for your understanding if our answer takes longer as usual because of the current restrictions. Your Universal Edition Team

Luciano Berio: Leaf

  • from "6 Encores" (1990)
  • for piano
  • Duration: 2’
  • Instrumentation details:
  • Composer: Luciano Berio
  • Dedication: pour Michael Vyner, in memoriam
  • Remarks: Published in UE33013 "6 Encores".

Work introduction

Leaf is dedicated to the memory of Michael Vyner, the artistic director of the London Sinfonietta, who died in 1989. Yet it is not funereal music; it seems instead to want to reflect Vyner’s cheerful personality until the sudden calm at the end – the hush following the notes’ ping-pong game.


World première

London (GB)
Main soloists:
Paul Crossley

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works