COVID-19 Update

Dear customers, we would like to inform you that due to the current situation concerning the novel corona virus, exit restrictions have been imposed in Austria. For this reason we kindly ask you to send all requests in written form to [email protected]. Of course, you are still welcome to use the various contact forms on our website and place orders online in our webshop. We ask for your patience in case we are not able to process your requests at the usual speed - due to legal regulations, companies in Austria are currently only able to operate at reduced capacity. However, we would like to assure you that Universal Edition will continue to look after its customers in times like these. Best regards, your Universal Edition team.

Luciano Berio: Luftklavier

  • from "6 Encores" (1985)
  • for piano
  • Duration: 2’
  • Instrumentation details:
  • Composer: Luciano Berio
  • Remarks: Published in UE33013 "6 Encores".

Work introduction

This piece sounds like an excerpt from a larger work – and in fact Berio originally intended it as a sketch for Concerto II for piano and two ensembles, which he took up three years later. Luftklavier demands great pianistic virtuosity; two layers of differing character must be controlled simultaneously. This is polyphonic music of great complexity, with an interwoven melody of sonic garlands.


World première

Firenze (IT)
Main soloists:
P. Nardi

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works