COVID-19 Update

Despite the problems caused by the Corona-virus our Webshop and the contact forms on our website are fully available. You may also address your inquiries to Thank you for your understanding if our answer takes longer as usual because of the current restrictions. Your Universal Edition Team

Luciano Berio: Luftklavier

  • from "6 Encores" (1985)
  • for piano
  • Duration: 2’
  • Instrumentation details:
  • Composer: Luciano Berio
  • Remarks: Published in UE33013 "6 Encores".

License for the use of music in films

Work specifications


Information on the film

Please, check again the information supplied by you.

We will send you an offer for a license agreement specifying ourt terms and conditions.
It is at UE discretion to grant you a permission on basis of the information supplied by you.
The transmission of your request does not represent a claim to the grant of a license.

Work introduction

This piece sounds like an excerpt from a larger work – and in fact Berio originally intended it as a sketch for Concerto II for piano and two ensembles, which he took up three years later. Luftklavier demands great pianistic virtuosity; two layers of differing character must be controlled simultaneously. This is polyphonic music of great complexity, with an interwoven melody of sonic garlands.


World première

Firenze (IT)
Main soloists:
P. Nardi

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works