COVID-19 Update

Despite the problems caused by the Corona-virus our Webshop and the contact forms on our website are fully available. You may also address your inquiries to Thank you for your understanding if our answer takes longer as usual because of the current restrictions. Your Universal Edition Team

Luciano Berio: Sequenza X

  • for trumpet in C (amplified by piano resonances)
  • Duration: 14’
  • Composer: Luciano Berio
  • Dedication: written for Thomas Stevens and dedicated to Ernst Fleischmann
  • Commission: Commissioned by Angeles Philharmonic Association

License for the use of music in films

Work specifications


Information on the film

Please, check again the information supplied by you.

We will send you an offer for a license agreement specifying ourt terms and conditions.
It is at UE discretion to grant you a permission on basis of the information supplied by you.
The transmission of your request does not represent a claim to the grant of a license.

Work introduction

Sequenza X presents the trumpet the way it is – no strange effects, no demands for playing techniques which would transform its character. Berio’s stroke of inspiration was to use a piano, invisibly amplified and with the loudspeaker hidden under the piano. The lid is fully open; the trumpeter must occasionally play into the piano. Berio uses the echo effects very sparingly – so it is all the more captivating when they do sound, with the trumpet continuing to play with its own echo in the background.


World première

Los Angeles (US)
Main soloists:
Thomas Stevens

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works