Luciano Berio: Sequenza XIV (arranged by: Stefano Scodanibbio)

Luciano Berio Sequenza XIV
Sequenza XIV

Luciano Berio: Sequenza XIV (arranged by: Stefano Scodanibbio)

Year of composition:
Scored for:
for double bass
Luciano Berio
Stefano Scodanibbio (2004)
Table of contents:
Sequenza XIVb für Kontrabass
More Less

Prices incl. VAT plus shipping costs

Product available

License request


Sequenza XIV

Work introduction

Even during his lifetime Luciano Berio was regarded as a modern master – his music played a crucial role in shaping the second half of the 20th century. Two works especially immediately spring to mind as ‘synonymous’ with him: the Sequenzas and Sinfonia. Berio’s pieces for solo instruments, the Sequenzas, are ‘written for performers whose virtuosity is above all a virtuosity of knowledge’. The Sequenzas attempt to expand the horizon of instrumental possibilities from the standpoint of the instrument itself. Berio dedicated his last completed Sequenza, Sequenza XIV, to the cellist Rohan de Saram, who had introduced Berio to the traditional instruments of his native Sri Lanka. Influences of a percussive nature in particular are incorporated in this Sequenza.

From our online shop

World première

Theaterhaus Stuttgart, Stuttgart (DE)
Main soloists:
Stefano Scodanibbio

Other works

Sign up for our newsletter!

You will regularly receive information about new scores with free downloads, current prize games and news about our composers.