Fink, Kerer: Pierre Boulez, Notations

  • Composer: Lea Fink Manuela Kerer
  • General editor: Helmut SchmidingerConstanze Wimmer

Work introduction

Pierre Boulez’ Notations are not only fascinating works. They are also sonic witnesses to their times. They originated as piano pieces in 1945 when Boulez was just 20 years old. Between thirty and fifty years later Boulez rewrote them as orchestral works. Starting from the existing piano versions, Boulez created entirely new works that are much more than just orchestrations. These works now give us a rare insight into the composer's particularly long developmental process.

“Listening Lab 4” provides engaging and interactive material to support orchestral musicians and music educators in schools and cultural institutions as they introduce audiences to Pierre Boulez Notations.

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works