Maurice Ravel: Ma Mère l’Oye (arranged by: Paolo Fradiani)

Maurice Ravel Ma Mère l’Oye
Ma Mère l’Oye

Maurice Ravel: Ma Mère l’Oye (arranged by: Paolo Fradiani)

Year of composition:
Scored for:
for ensemble or chamber orchestra
Maurice Ravel
Paolo Fradiani
1 1 1 0 - 1 0 0 0 - hp (or pno), str
Instrumentation details:
clarinet in Bb and A
horn in F
harp (or piano)
violin I
violin II
double bass (strings: single or multiple players)
Table of contents:
Pavane de la Belle au bois dormant
Petit Poucet
Laideronnette, Impératrice des Pagodes
Les entretiens de la Belle et la Bête
Le Jardin féerique
More Less

Work introduction

Originally for 4-handed piano, Ma Mère l’Oye was orchestrated by Ravel in 1911, and in the same year it was expanded to a ballet. This version for ensemble is presented in 5 movements and has been orchestrated with both the orchestral and the piano versions, so it is possible to make small changes to some sections while safeguarding the initial compositional idea, as in the case of the part of the solo contrabassoon from Les entretiens de la belle et de la bête in this version, which is split between doublebass and cello, an idea already suggested in the version orchestrated by Ravel.

Other works

Sign up for our newsletter!

You will regularly receive information about new scores with free downloads, current prize games and news about our composers.