COVID-19 Update

Dear customers, we would like to inform you that due to the current situation concerning the novel corona virus, exit restrictions have been imposed in Austria. For this reason we kindly ask you to send all requests in written form to [email protected]. Of course, you are still welcome to use the various contact forms on our website and place orders online in our webshop. We ask for your patience in case we are not able to process your requests at the usual speed - due to legal regulations, companies in Austria are currently only able to operate at reduced capacity. However, we would like to assure you that Universal Edition will continue to look after its customers in times like these. Best regards, your Universal Edition team.

Mauricio Sotelo: Cuerpos robados

  • for violin and orchestra
  • Duration: 15’
  • Composer: Mauricio Sotelo
  • Dedication: con Patricia Kopatchinskaja para Alfonso Aijón en su 80 cumpleaños mit Patricia Kopatchinskaja für Alfonso Aijón zum 80. Geburtstag
  • Commission: Auftragswerk der Klangspuren Schwaz

Work introduction

Mauricio Sotelo breaks new ground with Cuerpos robados (“Stolen Bodies”) for violin, declaimer and orchestra in three groups. The composer says it “sounds like Sotelo but without flamenco.” Both harmonically and formally, the work explores new land; the composer expects something unusual of the violinist, namely to sing and play simultaneously in the second cadenza.

“The rhythmic structure is very complex,” says Sotelo. “It is based on a Spanish dance-rhythm – the bulera, an ostinato. I composed this voice part as if I were writing for an Indian tabla.”

The complete perusal score (PDF-preview)

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works