COVID-19 Update

Despite the problems caused by the Corona-virus our Webshop and the contact forms on our website are fully available. You may also address your inquiries to Thank you for your understanding if our answer takes longer as usual because of the current restrictions. Your Universal Edition Team

Mauricio Sotelo: Urrutiko urdin

  • for orchestra
  • 3 2 3 2 - 4 2 3 1 - Violino I, leggio 1, Violino II, leggio 1, timp, perc(3), hp, vln.I(2), vln.II(2), vla(2), vc(2), cb(2)
  • Duration: 7’
  • Instrumentation details:
    1st flute
    2nd flute
    1st oboe
    2nd oboe
    1st clarinet in Bb
    2nd clarinet in Bb
    3rd clarinet in Bb
    1st bassoon
    2nd bassoon (+cbsn)
    1st,3rd horn in F
    2nd,4th horn in F
    1st trumpet in C
    2nd trumpet in C
    1st trombone
    2nd trombone
    3rd trombone (+bass tbn)
    contrabass tuba
    1st percussion
    2nd percussion
    3rd percussion
    Violino I, leggio 1
    1st violin I
    2nd violin I
    Violino II, leggio 1
    1st violin II
    2nd violin II
    1st viola
    2nd viola
    1st violoncello
    2nd violoncello
    1st double bass
    2nd double bass
  • Composer: Mauricio Sotelo
  • Dedication: dedicado a la Euskadiko Orkestra Sinfonikoa

Work introduction

Urrutiko urdin azul de lontananza or “Distant Blue” – is a vibrant sonic landscape and a frame for remembrance composed for and dedicated to the Orquestra Sinfónica de Euskadi. The Spanish name lontananza (borrowed from Italian) uses pictorial language to describe the zone farthest away from the foreground. Blue, the fifth colour of the solar spectrum, is also an adjective for the hue of cloudless sky and the sea; it also stands for space and distance.

Yet within the framework of my personal experience, “Distant Blue” refers to an intimate place in my thinking, one which cradles fragments of moving reminiscences of summers I spent in Euskadi (the Basque country) in my youth: “Distant Blue,” like the blurred horizon between the sea and the sky – cielo immense caído de los cielos (“immense sky which fell from the heavens”), as the poet Rafael Alberti wrote – or as Gerhard Richter painted it in his extraordinary Seascape (Sea-Sea) in 1970.

In our composition, a fine, azure or ocean-blue underground over the sonic spectrum of the note A gradually produces small ripples or waves, stirred by the breeze on the ocean surface, which very suddenly turn into a starry sky (Bar 43, four and three – symbols of the unity of earth and heaven). A spiral motion returns us for a few moments to a space of reminiscence, of things already experienced, now shimmering like a reverberation of memories – but the gateways to those memories are closed and sealed by the fortissimo of the short coda.

Mauricio Sotelo

Sample pages

World première

Teatro Principal, Vitória (ES)
Orquesta Sinfónica de Euskadi
Ari Rasilainen

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works