COVID-19 Update

Despite the problems caused by the Corona-virus our Webshop and the contact forms on our website are fully available. You may also address your inquiries to Thank you for your understanding if our answer takes longer as usual because of the current restrictions. Your Universal Edition Team

Morton Feldman: Orchestra

  • for orchestra
  • 4 4 4 4 - 2 3 3 1 - perc(3), hp, pno(2), str
  • Duration: 18’
  • Instrumentation details:
    picc-3·3-c.a·3-contl·3-cbn - 2·3·3·1 -perc(3) -hp., 2 pft(/1 cel) - str.
  • Composer: Morton Feldman
  • Commission: Musica Nova of Glasgow


Work specifications


Publication Information

Please check again the data you have given - thank you very much.

The license as well as our terms and conditions are available in writing. By clicking the button "Send inquiry", you submit your data, which are checked by the Universal Edition. The Universal Edition is free to provide you with an offer on the basis of your information. From the transmission of your request, no claim can be derived for a license.

Work introduction

One of the compositional quirks I’m most lucky about is the almost total state of amnesia immediately after completing a composition. There is not one of which I could sit down and recall a note of (except the opening of those oscillating D flats the piano plays in Piano and Orchestra – how could one forget that!).

I write that I’m fortunate about this (the Talmud refers to an Angel of Forgetfulness), what I mean to say is that this broken memory makes possible the never ending stopping of my pen. It is that which you repeat not from memory but from the lack of it which is the “substance” that interests me most.

Like Don Juan, whose involvement with women was only because he was on the run from them, my involvement with compositions comes about the same way: avenue of escape FROM it. As a friend used to say at a dull part, “Where’s the escape hatch?”. Art is no different. It’s a boring party. The thing is to know when to leave and write something like… Orchestra.

Morton Feldman, 1976

Sample pages

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works