Morton Feldman: Piano, Violin, Viola, Cello

Morton Feldman Piano, Violin, Viola, Cello
Piano, Violin, Viola, Cello

Morton Feldman: Piano, Violin, Viola, Cello

Year of composition:
Scored for:
for piano, violin, viola and violoncello
Morton Feldman
commissioned by The Xenakis Ensemble
dedicated to Ad van't Veer
More Less

Prices incl. VAT plus shipping costs

Product available

License request


Piano, Violin, Viola, Cello

Work introduction

Piano, Violin, Viola, Cello is Feldman’s last composition. The music proceeds slowly and quietly, with small alterations of the chords in advance; it has rather a sacral character, a kind of psalmody – it is music about and for eternity. Listeners think that it has always been there when, after 75 minutes, Feldman has written the double barline. As Sebastian Claren writes:

The setting of the chords is above all distinguished by the three strings and the piano playing closely together in the middle register over long passages; in the concluding remarks to his Middelburg lectures, Feldman explained this registration by saying that he had been interested “in the past four or five years in placing things in the same space.”

From our online shop

World première

Middelburg (NL)

Other works

Sign up for our newsletter!

You will regularly receive information about new scores with free downloads, current prize games and news about our composers.