COVID-19 Update

Despite the problems caused by the Corona-virus our Webshop and the contact forms on our website are fully available. You may also address your inquiries to Thank you for your understanding if our answer takes longer as usual because of the current restrictions. Your Universal Edition Team


Season opening with a world premiere by Victoria Borisova-Ollas

On 19 September 2019, Chief Conductor Sakari Oramo opens the Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra’s regular concert season with the world premiere of Victoria Borisova-Ollas' A Portrait of a Lady by Swan Lake. For her newly composed violin concerto she was inspired by Tchaikovsky's ballet Swan Lake. However, there is no direct connection to his music. Nevertheless, the work is based on the same story and, according to the composer, romantic and dance movements play a certain role.

Swedish composer Victoria Borisova-Ollas has roots in Russia and began her education at the Moscow State Tchaikovsky Conservatory. Predictably enough, a question that is put to her again and again by journalists commissioned to write her portrait concerns the “nationality” of her music. Is she a Russian composer? To what extent has she been influenced by her studies in the West? Borisova-Ollas refuses to be pinned down to any unequivocal statement. Her music, she says, is “just a healthy blend of everything”, her idiom being closest to the cautious modernism of much of British music. Indeed, you cannot describe her idiom as “avant-garde” by any means. She writes music with the avowed aim of communicating images, sensations, perhaps even messages to her audience.

The Programme:

Approximate times
Victoria Borisova-Ollas A Portrait of a Lady by Swan Lake for violin and orchestra (World Premiere) 19 mins

Intermission 25 mins

Anton Bruckner Symphony No. 4 ‘Romantic’ 65 mins

Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra
Sakari Oramo conductor
Baiba Skride violin

-Konserthuset Stockholm

Read the full score:

A Portrait of a Lady by Swan Lake