COVID-19 Update

Despite the problems caused by the Corona-virus our Webshop and the contact forms on our website are fully available. You may also address your inquiries to Thank you for your understanding if our answer takes longer as usual because of the current restrictions. Your Universal Edition Team

Ottorino Respighi: Concerto gregoriano

  • for violin and orchestra
  • 2 3 3 2 4 2 3 0 - timp, hp, cel, str
  • Duration: 30’
  • Soloists:
  • Instrumentation details:
    1st flute
    2nd flute
    1st oboe
    2nd oboe
    cor anglais
    1st clarinet in Bb (+cl(A))
    2nd clarinet in Bb (+cl(A))
    bass clarinet in Bb (+bass cl(A))
    1st bassoon
    2nd bassoon
    1st horn in F
    2nd horn in F
    3rd horn in F
    4th horn in F
    1st trumpet in Bb (+tpt(A))
    2nd trumpet in Bb (+tpt(A))
    1st trombone
    2nd trombone
    3rd trombone
    violin I
    violin II
  • Composer: Ottorino Respighi
  • Dedication: ad Arigo Serato
  • Remarks: Study score available at Musikproduktion Höflich:

Work introduction

Concerto gregoriano is Ottorino Respighi’s third violin concerto, reflecting his new-found love of Gregorian chants. According to his wife, traces of this love can be found in almost all of his works written after 1920. The music is characterised by a fascinating originality with unique melody and harmony, as well as sensitively chosen timbres, such as when the celeste joins the solo violin. Although Concerto gregoriano is often performed, it has – unjustly – not succeeded in winning a place among the popular violin concertos.


The complete perusal score (PDF-preview)

World première

Augusteo, Roma (IT)
Bernardino Molinari
Main soloists:
Mario Corti, vln

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works