COVID-19 Update

Despite the problems caused by the Corona-virus our Webshop and the contact forms on our website are fully available. You may also address your inquiries to Thank you for your understanding if our answer takes longer as usual because of the current restrictions. Your Universal Edition Team

Paul von Klenau: Michael Kohlhaas

  • 4 3 5 3 - 4 3 3 1 - stage music: 2, 2, 0, 0 - 2, 4, 0, 0 timp, perc(3), hp, pno, sax, mand, str
  • Duration: 140’
  • Instrumentation details:
    1st piccolo
    2nd piccolo
    1st flute
    2nd flute
    1st oboe
    2nd oboe
    cor anglais
    clarinet in D
    1st clarinet in Bb (+bass cl(Bb))
    2nd clarinet in Bb (+bass cl(Bb))
    1st bass clarinet in Bb
    2nd bass clarinet in Bb
    saxophone in C
    1st bassoon
    2nd bassoon
    1st horn in F
    2nd horn in F
    3rd horn in F
    4th horn in F
    1st trumpet in C
    2nd trumpet in C
    3rd trumpet in C
    1st trombone
    2nd trombone
    3rd trombone
    percussion(3) (+2ndtimp)
    violin I
    violin II
    double bass

  • Choir: SATB
  • Roles: Michael Kohlhaas – baritone Lisbeth, his wife – alto Der Kurfürst von Sachsen – tenore Heloise, seine Geliebte – soprano Zigeunerin – alto Junker Wenzel von Tronka – tenore Herse, Kohlhaasens Knecht – basso mehrere kleine Rollen, Doppelbesetzung
  • Composer: Paul von Klenau
  • Writer of pre-existing text: Heinrich von Kleist
  • Text adapter: Paul von Klenau
  • Dedication: Meinem Bruder zugeeignet
  • Remarks: The stage is divided into a front and backstage sector.

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works