COVID-19 Update

Dear customers, we would like to inform you that due to the current situation concerning the novel corona virus, exit restrictions have been imposed in Austria. For this reason we kindly ask you to send all requests in written form to [email protected]. We ask for your patience in case we are not able to process your requests at the usual speed - due to legal regulations, companies in Austria are currently only able to operate at reduced capacity. However, we would like to assure you that Universal Edition will continue to look after its customers in times like these. Best regards, your Universal Edition team.

Peter Iljitsch Tschaikowsky: 5. Symphonie

(Arranger: George Morton)

  • in E minor
  • for ensemble or chamber orchestra
  • 1 1 1 1 - 2 1 1 0 - timp, str (min. 1 1 1 1 1, max. 6 5 4 3 2)
  • Duration: 47’
  • Instrumentation details:
    flute (+picc)
    clarinet in A
    1st horn
    2nd horn
    trumpet in Bb
    1st violin
    2nd violin
    double bass
  • Composer: Peter Iljitsch Tschaikowsky
  • Arranger: George Morton

Work introduction

Tchaikovsky’s epic 5th Symphony is performed on the symphonic stage countless times a year and is beloved by performers and audiences alike. This new arrangement for ensemble or chamber orchestra allows the work to be taken away from the grandest of stages and into perhaps more intimate and interesting venues.  The orchestration, designed to maintain the energy and vivacity of the original, allows Tchiakovsky’s counterpoint and interweaving melodies to come to the fore, without being lost in a full symphony orchestra.  Here, single winds are joined by a pair of horns, solo trumpet and trombone, alongside timpani and strings (from quintet to 6 5 4 3 2).

The complete perusal score (PDF-preview)

Next performances

World première

Yellow Arch Studios, Sheffield (GB)
Sheffield Rep Orchestra
George Morton

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works