Peter Kolman: Konzert (1995, rev. 2016)

Peter Kolman Konzert (1995, rev. 2016)
Konzert (1995, rev. 2016)

Peter Kolman: Konzert (1995, rev. 2016)

Year of composition:
Scored for:
for orchestra
Peter Kolman
3 3 3 3 - 4 4 3 1 - timp, perc, hp, cel, str
Instrumentation details:
1st flute (+picc)
2nd flute (+picc)
3rd flute (+1st cl(Eb))
1st oboe
2nd oboe
3rd oboe
1st clarinet in Bb
2nd clarinet in Bb
3rd clarinet in Bb
1st bassoon
2nd bassoon
3rd bassoon
1st horn in F
2nd horn in F
3rd horn in F
4th horn in F
1st trumpet in C
2nd trumpet in C
3rd trumpet in C
4th trumpet in C
1st trombone
2nd trombone
3rd trombone
celesta (+pno)
violin I
violin II
double bass
Table of contents:
"...wie das Vibrieren der Luft an einem Frühlingsmorgen"
Flüchtige Begegnungen
Das obligate Finale
More Less

The complete perusal score (PDF-preview)

Work introduction

For several years, I was busy with reflecting on composition techniques and style and this is reflected in my five-movement orchestral work – Concerto for Orchestra – written in 1995. The opening movement of the Concerto is something of a baroque “intrada” and is scored exclusively for 4 trumpets and percussion. The 2nd movement introduces clusters, both narrow and wide. The title of the 3rd movement is derived from the principle of constant merging and separation of voices. Dynamically oscillating sounds form the basis of the 4th movement. The 5th movement is a finale, some elements from previous movements are elaborated again and new ones are added. Through mounting ascending chords, a quotation from Wagner and a trombone trumpet cadenza the movement reaches its climax, after which it dies away in pianissimo.

Peter Kolman

Special prints

Konzert (1995, rev. 2016)

Peter Kolman: Konzert (1995, rev. 2016)

study score
for orchestra , 22’
Instr.: 3 3 3 3 - 4 4 3 1 - timp, perc, hp, cel, str

Other works

Sign up for our newsletter!

You will regularly receive information about new scores with free downloads, current prize games and news about our composers.