Richard Strauss: Konzert

Richard Strauss Konzert

Richard Strauss: Konzert

Eb major
op. 11
Year of composition:
Scored for:
for horn and piano
Richard Strauss
Table of contents:
More Less

Prices incl. VAT plus shipping costs

Product available

License request

Work introduction

‘God, this feeble lack of melody! When is this aged youngster ever going to fall in love?’ Such was the opinion given by Hans von Bulow – one of the most distinguished conductors of his day – on the world premiere of the Concerto for Horn and Orchester No. 1 on 4 March 1885. However, it seems to have had little effect on the popularity of the piece. Richard Strauss’ Horn Concerto No. 1 still remains part of the standard repertoire of horn virtuosos today. Composed for the natural horn – a valveless predecessor of the modern horn – it offers soloists innumerable opportunities to prove their musical and technical prowess. It was written before 1883, reflecting the developmental stage of the 19-year-old Strauss, and was of course very different from the style of his later operas and symphonic poems.

Sonja Huber, February 2009

From our online shop

Other works

Sign up for our newsletter!

You will regularly receive information about new scores with free downloads, current prize games and news about our composers.