COVID-19 Update

Despite the problems caused by the Corona-virus our Webshop and the contact forms on our website are fully available. You may also address your inquiries to Thank you for your understanding if our answer takes longer as usual because of the current restrictions. Your Universal Edition Team

Richard Strauss: Concerto

  • No. 1 (1882-1883)
  • in Eb major
  • for horn and orchestra
  • 2 2 2 2 - 2 2 0 0 - timp, str
  • Duration: 19’
  • Soloists:
    horn in F
  • Instrumentation details:
    1st flute
    2nd flute
    1st oboe
    2nd oboe
    1st clarinet in Bb
    2nd clarinet in Bb
    1st bassoon
    2nd bassoon
    1st horn in Eb
    2nd horn in Eb
    1st trumpet in Eb
    2nd trumpet in Eb
    violin I
    violin II
  • Composer: Richard Strauss
  • Table of contents:
    Konzert für Waldhorn und Orchester Nr. 1
  • Dedication: dem königl. sächs. Kammermusiker Herrn Oscar Franz freundlichst gewidmet

Work introduction

‘God, this feeble lack of melody! When is this aged youngster ever going to fall in love?’ Such was the opinion given by Hans von Bulow – one of the most distinguished conductors of his day – on the world premiere of the Concerto for Horn and Orchester No. 1 on 4 March 1885. However, it seems to have had little effect on the popularity of the piece. Richard Strauss’ Horn Concerto No. 1 still remains part of the standard repertoire of horn virtuosos today. Composed for the natural horn – a valveless predecessor of the modern horn – it offers soloists innumerable opportunities to prove their musical and technical prowess. It was written before 1883, reflecting the developmental stage of the 19-year-old Strauss, and was of course very different from the style of his later operas and symphonic poems.

Sonja Huber, February 2009


Sample pages

World première

Herzögliche Hofkapelle, Meiningen (DE)
Hans von Bülow
Main soloists:
Gustav Leinhos, hn

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works