COVID-19 Update

Dear customers, we would like to inform you that due to the current situation concerning the novel corona virus, exit restrictions have been imposed in Austria. For this reason we kindly ask you to send all requests in written form to [email protected]. We ask for your patience in case we are not able to process your requests at the usual speed - due to legal regulations, companies in Austria are currently only able to operate at reduced capacity. However, we would like to assure you that Universal Edition will continue to look after its customers in times like these. Best regards, your Universal Edition team.

Rolf Liebermann: Furioso

  • for orchestra
  • 2 2 2 2 - 4 3 3 1 - timp(2), perc, pno, str
  • Duration: 9’
  • Instrumentation details:
    1st flute (+1stpicc)
    2nd flute (+2ndpicc)
    1st oboe (+c.a)
    2nd oboe
    1st clarinet in Bb
    2nd clarinet in Bb
    1st bassoon
    2nd bassoon
    1st horn in F
    2nd horn in F
    3rd horn in F
    4th horn in F
    1st trumpet in C
    2nd trumpet in C
    3rd trumpet in C
    1st trombone
    2nd trombone
    3rd trombone
    1st timpani
    2nd timpani
    violin I
    violin II
    double bass
  • Composer: Rolf Liebermann

Work introduction

The orchestral piece Furioso premièred in 1947 at the Darmstädter Musiktagen, and its uncompromising wildness brought its composer Rolf Liebermann international fame for the first time. Barely ten minutes in duration, the work is in three parts: a trombone ostinato, a recurring toccata-like “verse” in the piano and huge rhythmic counterpoint in the orchestra. 


The complete perusal score (PDF-preview)

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works